Dripping faucets and barking dogs

PHOTO PROMPT – © Madison Woods
PHOTO PROMPT – © Madison Woods

Drip Drip Drip goes the faucet

as I try my best to sleep.

The neighbour’s dog is barking

and so is the mutt up the street.

I tried warm milk, counted every sheep on old MacDonald’s Farm

and still I lay awake, waiting for the morning alarm.

On the clock in front of me

a one changes to a two, and then into a three

Two cups of strong coffee in the morning

and groggy until the next night

falling asleep wherever I go, can’t wait to make it right

until I hit the bed and already I know

I won’t sleep tonight.

This annoying little poem is how I spent my night and is also my entry into this week’s Friday Fictioneers. Click on the link to read more stories in this week’s collection.

10 thoughts on “Dripping faucets and barking dogs

  1. And so, in verse, you touch upon another of those universal themes. Nicely done! My erratic rhyme-schemes are unintentional. I might publish one, as long as it doesn’t frighten the horses…uh, readers. 🙄

  2. I wouldn’t mind sleeping less if it didn’t cause all that fatigue. Great poem, it’s like the thoughts going through the head when unable to sleep.

Leave a Reply

