one solemn request

To all out in blog land,

if you could do yourself a tiny favour. If you smoke, could you take the time to remove the cigarette pack from your pocket or purse, and beat the damn thing up?

Could you take this day to be smoke free, even if it means a bit of personal suffering on your part? Could you do this for the sick and dying in hospitals, all due to the terrible addiction called smoking?

Do this not only for those sick and dying in our hospitals because of smoking, but for their families and friends and for those who love and care for them. Do this not only for your own health, but for your children, your families, your friends, and for those who love and care about you. Those are the ones who suffer most, feeling helpless and forced to watch and endure all the pain you have to suffer because of your nicotine habit.

One day, that’s all I ask. Do this to prove to the cigarette companies and to the governments who continue to profit from your addiction that you are strong and that you can give up smoking. Show them that you care about yourself and most of all about your families and friends who love you.

6 thoughts on “one solemn request

  1. As a non-smoker, I’m all for supporting the quitting of the vile habit. That said, if quitting any addiction were as easy as ‘just not doing it’, there would be plenty more non-smokers than there are. I watched my mom try to quit smoking several times, but she finally managed it. It looks to be one of the hardest things a person could ever do.

    1. I wrote this after my aunt spent the night on the strongest pain killers available to her. She started out with lung cancer, kept smoking, now the cancer has spread throughout her body, even in her bones. She probably has a week left, maybe less. and yet, she still smoked right up until she could no longer haul herself outside to smoke

      1. I had an aunt who did the same thing. Unrepentant smoker to the end. I think it was emphysema which was her cause of death. It wasn’t cancer, but I have no doubt the smoking led to her death. It is very hard to watch someone do that to themselves, but it is impossible to convince them if they are not ready to make the change either. That’s only based on my limited experiences.

      2. I am not a smoker, and both my parents quit in 1970. My aunt basically told them they were crazy to quit…who is crazy now I wonder? Sad part, my mom spends her time crying over her stubborn sister. She doesn’t have much time left, a day, maybe two. glad to hear you don’t smoke.

      3. My heart goes out to your family. Losing anyone is tough, but those last few days of waiting and being by the beside are the hardest. I’ve been there and I hope that you are able to comfort each other as your aunt’s time comes.

  2. I am so sorry for you and your family! 😦
    I am also a non-smoker – never did, which is good, because of the wife’s inhalant allergies. As kirizar says, it’s more complicated than just saying no. My addictive habit to break is (over)eating, and they don’t put in food the addictive chemicals that manufacturers intentionally put in cigarettes.

Leave a Reply

