Friday Fictioneers: Respect for the past

“You want my land to build your city?” he asked.

“We need it, and we are prepared to meet whatever demands you make!” the developer added. Most of the land has already been purchased and the equipment will be moving in soon to start the job.

“I only have one demand, other than the big chunk of money you will give me.” the old geezer said.

“We are already paying you far more than the property is worth, what else could you possibly want?

“The trees. They have to remain as they are, no cutting my trees!” he said.

“Done!”

This is my entry into this week’s Friday Fictioneers. The picture says it all…

PHOTO PROMPT -Copyright-Rochelle Wisoff-Fields
PHOTO PROMPT -Copyright-Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

 

12 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Respect for the past

  1. From an ex-logger, to a tree-hugging old geezer. It makes sense. Well done! 😀

    A home construction contractor from 40 miles away, but with my name, built a house on an empty lot in the next block. He removed one tree to get his equipment and supplies in – and I received the notification that I was being sued. Stupid lawyers. 😯

  2. I’d like to see more places leave trees when they build, although I imagine in some cases, trees block the access needed. I do see places where this happens and if nothing else, trees should be replanted once the building is done. Different take, but I like it.

    janet

  3. Legend says that this is exactly what happened in the building of Atlanta, GA. I’ll never forget driving there for the first time. We were in city traffic for the longest time before we could see the city through all the trees. Let’s hope a few more developers get the hang of this!

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

Leave a Reply

