Flash Fiction: my sister’s lite brite

bottles-marie-gail-stratford
Copyright – Marie Gail Stratford

Word Count: 99

As kids, we spent untold hours playing with my sister’s ‘Lite-Brite’. A simple toy, featuring a plastic body and screen filled with holes. A light bulb in the back of the unit illuminated the screen while we plugged the holes with translucent plastic pegs.

My sister got mad when my brother and I hogged her favourite toy. We used it to leave funny messages such as ‘You Stink’ and ‘Your feet are big”

She would enter her room, the lights turned down low, and the Lite-Brite would relay our little messages to her. Ah childhood…sometimes I miss it!

This is my entry into Addicted to Purple’s Flash Fiction. Give it a try, great fun!

13 thoughts on “Flash Fiction: my sister’s lite brite

  1. Wow, this is great – I wrote a story to begin with about ‘Lite-Brite’ toy that my kids had years ago. When I stepped on an escaping plastic peg – cover your ears! I love how you tormented your sister but still wanted to play with her toy. Does she talk to you now? Cute!
    Nan 🙂

    1. lol. we are the greatest of friends, and still laugh about our childhood. don’t worry, I didn’t get off scott free from all the teasing…she used to fight back. nothing to get her fist in the shoulder, which usually stung like hell

Leave a Reply

