Running through the buttercups

Back before all the houses

and all the new people

there was a large open field

where we used to run

and play

She would arrive barefoot

my shoes would soon go

and we would run through the buttercups

once I got stung

by a bumblebee

it’s nothing, you see

she said

for what I thought was pain

was nothing compared to what she had seen

and felt

in her short life

she was five

and I was six

and we ran though the buttercups

until our feet were yellow

my mom would laugh

and help me clean my feet

she would be punished

as if it were a crime

I wouldn’t see her for days

but when she came back

we would run through the buttercups

 

2 thoughts on “Running through the buttercups

    1. I can only write when I am feeling a certain way. Mostly when I am stressed or worried. Going back to this job will definitely bring me a bit of stress…when I worked at the position before, there were six others sharing the duties. This one, on me. as for the money, yes, more than double the hourly rate.

Leave a Reply

