Kids say the darnedest things sometimes

While at the florist, ordering flowers for our summer wedding, my kid wanders through the store, looking around. He comes running to me, very excited. “Dad! I found the perfect father’s day gift for you. I am going to break my piggy bank and buy it for you!”

He takes me by the hand and leads me to the cemetery section and points out a funeral wreath shaped like a heart, surrounded by blue flowers with the words…To Dad.

I am like….how about you wait a few years for that one…like fifty or more years.

When I explained that the wreath was for a funeral, he goes…”But it is so pretty, you sure you don’t want it?”

The store employees almost fell off their stools laughing.

4 thoughts on “Kids say the darnedest things sometimes

  1. Haha! Kids really do say the darnedest things. When I was about 5, I gave my grandmother a plate that had a very romantic poem on it entitled “To My Sweetheart” She kept always kept it on display and we laughed about it even years later. You little guy sounds like a sweet little guy who gives you lots of laughs.

Leave a Reply

