Trifecta Week 90: The misadventures of Dicky Doo

A few years back, I worked at a department store. The store owner was a straight laced gentleman who took no bullshit and did no nonsense. On one occasion, he and I went to a trade show to order new stock for the store. There were reps from all over the country, and Tom held his own with the big city store managers. Later that evening, Tom went to a special supper for all store owners/managers. I chose to remain in the lobby and chat to an old friend. All of a sudden, this guy comes up to me in a frantic hurry and asks if I had seen ‘Dicky Doo’ anywhere.

I didn’t know anyone named Dicky Doo, and I was confused to why he would have asked me in the first place. “I don’t know that guy, but if I see anyone going by that name, I will be sure to let him know you need him.” I said, politely.

“You know him, the two of you came here together. He is a heavy set guy with grey hair.” he said. “I know that guy, but his name sure isn’t ‘dicky doo’. I said.

Later that evening, Tom joined me in the lobby. He was obviously drinking, now he looked hung over. I asked if he knew anyone named Dicky Doo.

He began to laugh out loud. “I sure do know Dicky Doo, Dicky Doo is me.” he said.

“What the hell? Your name is Tom, not Dick, who is Dicky Doo?” I asked.

“It is me. Look!” he hollered to the crowd in the lobby. “My belly sticks out further than my dicky do!” he said.

I had to wrap my mind around this one to grasp what I was seeing.

Later that day I had to promise never to mention this day again. The sober Tom would frown on such things. Some people should never drink!

This is my entry into this week’s Trifecta Challenge. The word is Grasp

10 thoughts on “Trifecta Week 90: The misadventures of Dicky Doo

  1. Business trips, where you are not the one in charge, are always prone to uncomfortable moments. Ewwwwwww, is all I can say! I am glad you were not exposed to his “dickey-doo.” That would have certainly changed the tone of the story….and, not in a good way. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

