My Nana

As she shuffled across the floor, feet never seeming to lift, she found her way to the counter. Reaching in the cupboard, she slid her fingers from the bottom of the door and up until she found the knob. Carefully propping herself against the counter, she reached inside the cupboard to find the perfect bowl.

When the correct bowl was discovered, she carefully put it on the counter. She then felt her way across the cabinet and found the drawer where the utensils were stored. She found her whisk and lay it on the counter. One hand in the flour and one  in the bowl, she was able to judge exactly how much flour she needed, the same for the eggs and the other ingredients. She  carefully mixed the ingredients together, always with her secret ingredient of love. When this was finished, she poured the mixture into cupcake pans, clicked the oven  controls to the exact heat (she memorized the number of times she needed to hit the button  to get the perfect heat setting) and she put the cookies in the oven.

She scuffed her way back to her favorite chair and sat down and told us stories of when she was little. When the oven  beeped, she returned to the oven and took out the steaming hot cupcakes that she made from scratch. Slowly making her way to the fridge, she reached in and found exactly what she wanted, mostly from memory. She took out a bowl of icing that she had made earlier that day, and proceeded to cover the cupcakes with the tasty topping.

She asked that we come over to the counter, and when we did, we were each treated to the tastiest cupcakes in the world.

My grandmother, Emma Luedy, was a strong woman. In her life, she survived the hit and run death of her husband, she raised eleven children, she dealt with diabetes (which caused her to go blind), she took a heart attack, and underwent two surgeries to remove blood clots. In all her life,  she never complained once or got  depressed over anything.

In her spare time, she wrote stories (they say that she is where I get my story telling skills), songs, and poetry. She maintained a flower garden, grew her own  vegetables  and did all  her own cooking, which also included the cupcakes I described above. and through all of this, she never let anything get her down.

I used to drive my nana to the grocery store every month. I still remember her shuffling through the aisles, chatting away. She could really move. At 17, I had a difficult time keeping up with her.

From time to time, her relatives from New Waterford would come to the island to visit. They would sit at her little table and her little  house would fill with laughter and stories of the old days.

These days I am heavily involved with finding out more about my nana’s side of the family. I created a facebook page devoted not only to the Luedy families, but also of the Blanchards, Roaches, Muises, and any other family I can link to the tree. I have learned some amazing stories from my newfound relatives, and I plan to write these stories in a book in the near future. I would love nothing more than to have my Nana here by my side, chatting to relatives from all over the world. I know she would love it as well.

59063_10150260695080123_6324309_n

 

 

7 thoughts on “My Nana

  1. Awesome post, SnB. Your Nana sounded like a truly wonderful and special person. I bet the cupcakes were so good…and to be blind and not let anything stop her from doing what she loved and not a complaint…wow…that’s pretty inspiring.

    1. Thanks. I think about her courage whenever small and petty things seem to bother me. She was a great role model for us all, and she has never been forgotten in our little community. Thanks for the nice comment, she would have loved the stuff you write

  2. Wow you hit it on the nose there Ted, she was everything to all of us grand kids growing up. I always made sure when we got older and moved away from home to make her house the second stop on our travels back home (Mom’s being the first stop). Miss her everyday and now I know that my mom is there with her to keep her and poppy company. Thanks Ted for the beautiful words that you have written…..loves you guys xoxox

Leave a Reply

