Trifecta: Trapped

His footsteps rumbling across the cabin floor above us echoed like the thunder of a shotgun.  The old board floors creaked under the paws of this hungry giant. This would be the last time I would ever listen to Randy. Just because Randy was afraid of bears, we ended up hiding in the cellar, locked in a dark dungeon under a trap door that wouldn’t budge. It was damp down there, but as uncomfortable as we were, we tried our best to be as quiet as possible. Given the fact that the place was crawling with rats, the urge to scream became unbearable.

The old bear was probably only looking for something to eat, but that didn’t matter. Truth was, we were defenseless down there, and if the near rotten floor boards didn’t hold up, it would just be a matter of time before the giant animal ended up down in the cellar with us, and that wouldn’t be good.

There were other places to hide, such as the attic, where there was a door that led to the roof and to safety; but given the fact that my younger cousin climbed into the dark hole under the stairs and started screaming, I had no choice but to follow him.

The bear continued his search for food, and he found it. We both shivered when we heard him tear away what was left of the cabinet where we kept our food.In just a few minutes, he would leave the cabin, or what was left of it. Once he was gone, I had Randy stand on my shoulders, and with all my might, and the adrenalin that was bursting to leave my body, we managed to push the heavy door open and escape.

We waited a while before venturing out the door. In the distance I watched the brown bear disappear from view, giving us time to run out the cabin and into the truck.

This is my first entry into this week’s Trifecta Challenge.

The word this week is Thunder (3: bang, rumble <the thunder of big guns>)

18 thoughts on “Trifecta: Trapped

  1. I have no idea what I would do in that situation, but hopefully it wouldn’t involve a cellar! The idea of a bear falling through the planks is pretty terrifying.

  2. Yikes! I can only imagine the fear … there is something so vulnerable about being trapped in the cellar with such a large and aggressive animal above.

  3. Being stuck under the weak floor boards – scary!

    I’m glad the bear left and they were able to get out of the cellar (and away from the rats)

  4. I would freak smooth out in that situation! You really created such a suspenseful story. I enjoyed it!

  5. This would have been terrifying. Locked in a damp cellar with rats is bad enough, but worrying if the bear would fall through the floor is torture (almost typed ‘unbearable’ but that would elicit a groan, I’m sure.) I’m glad the bear lumbered off into the woods and you made it out.

  6. That was a little terrifying. I have to admit, though, up until the very end I was convinced that it wasn’t a bear at all, that they would come out and find a dead body in the kitchen and the radio blaring news about a psychopath on the loose… Which is probably what I would have been worried about if I was stuck in that basement. *shivers*

  7. This is your first Trifecta entry? I am surprised and delighted that you have decided to pick up the torch. I don’t know that I would want to be in a danged damp cellar either… the attic, yes, climb!

Leave a Reply

