Grandma’s Grey Hair

My grandmother often told me stories of my dad, Henry. She said that he was quite the rascal, and that he always kept her on her toes.

Growing up in a large family was never easy, but Henry always made the best of any situation, even if it caused his mom grief. When Henry was seven, he and his older sister planned  a game of ‘Donkey’. This was a game in which you tried to see who could come closer to the others’ feet with the blade of the knife. You would get six turns each, one turn for each letter  in the word ‘Donkey’. Henry went first, and he almost finished the entire word, until he got to the ‘Y’, when the blade came closer than any of his previous shots, and right into the center of his older sister’s foot. Evelyn, the elder child at the age of nine, let out a cacophony of screams and curse words, and headed straight to the house. Their mother came out in a panic, armed with her ‘curse cure’, a bar of home made soap that she made from raw materials found on the farm. She quickly forgot about the curse words when she seen Evelyn’s foot bleeding. Henry went to bed without food on this occasion (and many more, according to my grandmother)

My grandmother also told of a time where she was out planting strawberries in the meadow. Strawberries always grew best near the river, near a giant ant hill. Henry and Evelyn came along to watch, and Evelyn suggested that her little brother sit right next to her on a nice, soft hill. What Evelyn didn’t tell her brother was that there was a giant ant hill under him. When the insects began biting him on the bottom, Henry was the one who filled the air with curses and screams. This time however, it was Evelyn who would go to bed without supper.

This is my second entry into Trifextra: Week Eleven

The challenge is to write a response that is between 33 and 333 words long and uses the words listed below.  Use the words however you wish, but make sure that all three appear in your response.  Oh, and they must appear in order.

  1. cacophony
  2. soap
  3. insects
5 thoughts on “Grandma’s Grey Hair

  1. Ack, the dreaded bar of soap! My parents never used soap as a tool for washing away the “bad words”, but a babysitter my brother and I went to did. I think my brother was only 3 at the time, and I stood in the hallway terrified of the witch who was feeding my brother soap. If I had been bigger… I would have stomped her.

Leave a Reply

