Starting to read a new book

I just started reading a new book. I hate that. I love the feeling of being so addicted to a book, you don’t want to put it down, but I always found that beginning to read a new book is a bit of a pain. I often throw away possibly great books because the beginning bores me. Maybe that is why I enjoy reading series of books, like the Repairman Jack or Jack Reacher, or even the Star Trek series of books. I know all the main characters, so I am comfortable with what is going on.

This hatred of beginning to read a new book  compares to the first day on a new job. I am confident that I can do the work, but since I know nobody there, I feel somewhat uncomfortable. I can also compare my book reading dilemma to new underwear. I know that the underwear will eventually become comfortable, but at first, it feels all starchy and difficult to wear.

I just opened my Kindle to the first few pages of 11-22-63 by Stephen King. I have read all the reviews of the book, and it promises to deliver everything I want in the book, a bit of history, some science fiction, a bit of action, etc. Hopefully it will be more comfortable than the underwear I am wearing…for more on underwear, see my https://sightsnbytes.wordpress.com/2011/11/14/boobs/ post.

3 thoughts on “Starting to read a new book

  1. I’m a bit more than halfway through 11/22/63, and it’s pretty good. Better than Duma Key. Being from Texas, and having been to the Texas School Book Depository building (now a museum, including a reproduction of Oswald’s sniper nest), I’m finding it fascinating.

    I’m reading it the old-fashioned way, in hardback book form; how are you liking the Kindle? I’ve thought about getting one, but I’m leaning more and more toward the iPad.

  2. I am liking the Kindle, primarily due to the fact that I always preferred hard cover books, and with the kindle, I can set the screen to read horizontal, which is alot like a hard cover book. The Ipad is a great device, but I like to read outside, and the ipad gives a glare, while the Kindle does not…just a personal preference I guess.

Leave a Reply

